Part 23: Offer of Friendship ©

Today peace was made in the land of Suburbia! It all happened this morning when Mom unexpectedly decided to take me outside the portal. She said we needed to get something called “fresh air” and then led me by the hand towards the portal. Realizing that we were headed to where Ellie and Squirt would be waiting, I quickly snatched the ball and tucked it safely in my arm. As soon as we crossed the threshold I wriggled out of Mom’s grip and began looking for Ellie and Squirt to appear. Suddenly they came zipping from behind and were soon standing right in front of me. I expected to be greeted with their customary hostility but all I saw in their faces was a giddy, almost pleading sort of expression as they stared at the ball in my hands. I held the ball firmly and began my offer of friendship. “My dear Ellie and Squirt” I said eloquently “I know we have long been enemies but today I extend an offer of friendship. I will give you this ball in exchange for you relinquishing your mind control over Mom and Dad and ceasing your attempts to infiltrate my domain. Are we agreed?” Both dogs cocked their heads thoughtfully and then the white one spoke in a soft voice “We once dwelt in the domain that you now possess but when your transporter capsule arrived we were sent to live out here with no one to play with. It is not the ball we desire but a person who will play with us so if you will agree to do that then we will be most delighted to live in peace and meet your demands.” The Grand Ma was right! It was playtime that they wanted! “Very well,” I said, hiding my happiness “I will play with you and we shall be friends from this day on.” At that, the dogs bowed low and wagged their tails as I raised the ball over my head to toss it into the green space behind them. We played for what seemed like an eternity before Mom finally said it was time to go back inside the portal. She had an amused smile on her face and I knew it had to be because she was finally free from the mind control. At last success was mine and my domain was free!

(All Content on this page is copyrighted by Angela R. Sexton 2012, All Rights Reserved)

Leave a Reply

